WESTWOOD SCHOOL COMMITTEE Westwood, Massachusetts

MEETING MINUTES

June 19, 2020

Attendance and Call to Order

The meeting, held remotely¹, was called to order at 7:50am by Superintendent Emily Parks. Also present on the audio-video conference were: Charles Donahue, Carol Lewis, Anthony Mullin, Amanda Phillips, and Maya Plotkin. John Cianciarulo recorded the minutes.

Ms. Parks recognized the live stream of the meeting which was provided for real-time, public access to the activities of the School Committee. Members of the public were able to view a live stream of the meeting via the Internet at <u>www.westwood.k12.ma.us/live</u>. The meeting was also recorded by Westwood Media Center for later broadcast.

Reorganization of the School Committee

Vote to elect Chairperson Mrs. Plotkin made a motion to elect Carol Lewis as Chairperson. Seconded by Mr. Donahue.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye
Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

Mrs. Lewis assumed control of the meeting as Chairperson.

Vote to elect Vice Chairperson

Mr. Donahue made a motion to elect Maya Plotkin as Vice Chairperson. Seconded by Mr. Mullin.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye
Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

Vote to elect Clerk Mr. Mullin made a motion to elect Charlie Donahue as Clerk. Seconded by Mrs. Plotkin.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye

¹ Remote meeting held in accordance with Executive Order of Massachusetts Governor, March 12, 2020.

Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

Following the reorganization of the School Committee, Mrs. Lewis welcomed Mrs. Phillips to the Committee and thanked Mr. Mullin for his work as Chair over the past year.

Action Items

<u>Vote to Update Membership of the School Building Committee</u> Mrs. Plotkin made a motion to add Amanda Phillips to the School Building Committee as a School Committee member. Seconded by Mr. Mullin.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye
Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

Mrs. Plotkin made a motion to add Josepha Jowdy to the School Building Committee as a community member. Seconded by Mrs. Phillips.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye
Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

<u>Vote to Designate Project Leader for Sheehan Design Study</u> Mr. Mullin made a motion to appoint Ms. Parks and Mrs. Plotkin to serve as project leaders for the Sheehan Design Study. Seconded by Mr. Donahue.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye
Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

Adjournment

Mrs. Plotkin made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Donahue seconded.

Roll-Call Vote:

Mr. Donahue	Aye
Mrs. Lewis	Aye
Mr. Mullin	Aye
Mrs. Phillips	Aye
Mrs. Plotkin	Aye

Vote: 5-0-0.

Result: Approved (Unanimous)

The meeting adjourned at 8:01am.

List of Documents and Exhibits Used at Meeting:

• None