In Fall 2021, the School Committee formed a School Start Times Subcommittee to review schedules at the secondary schools. Currently, our high school starts at 7:25am. However, the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Medical Association both recommend that secondary schools start no earlier than 8:30am. Research has demonstrated that chronic sleep deprivation in adolescents is associated with medical, mental health, safety, and behavioral issues.


In Fall, 2022, it is anticipated that the Subcommittee will make recommendations to the School Committee on changes to start times that are informed by community input, medical research, and the management of logistics involved in any change, particularly around bus transportation schedules. Any change to school start times will be no earlier than the start of the 2023-2024 school year.


School Start Times Subcommittee meetings are open to the public. Agendas and minutes are available online. A list of scenarios can be found here.

Health and Wellness Information

There is a wealth of research on adolescent sleep and the impact of later school start times. The links provided below are not comprehensive, but help in providing an initial overview of the research.




FAQ Document


Letter to Families: Parent Forum 3-25-2022

School Committee Start Times Subcommittee

Tony Mullin, Chair -- School Committee member

Tim Chant -- K-12 Wellness Director and Elementary teacher representative

Amy Davenport -- High School Principal

Sanaa Devgan, Grade 11 -- High School student representative

Marian Donovan -- Westwood Teachers' Association representative and Middle School teacher representative

Lateefah Franck -- Director of Equity, Integration, and Community Partnerships

Matt Gillis -- Athletic Director

Abby Hanscom, Director of Student Services

Chris Hilton -- High School teacher representative and Parent representative

Lemma Jn-baptiste -- Director of Business and Finance

Kathy Lee -- High School teacher representative

Tammy McGowan -- Parent representative

Emily Parks -- Superintendent of Schools

Amanda Phillips -- School Committee member

Mike Redmon -- Middle School Principal

Jennifer Ryan Schultz -- Parent representative

Donna Tobin -- K-8 SEL Coordinator

visit us on twittervisit us on facebook icon

Copyright 2024 Westwood Public SchoolPrivacy | Terms of use | Link to Town Site